Department of Physiology

Dr Sadia
Head of the Department

Professor Dr. Sadia Ahsin
(MBBS, FCPS, MHPE) PM&DC Reg No. (32655-P)

Welcome to the Department of Physiology at Foundation University School of Health Sciences. Physiology, along with other basic and clinical sciences faculties, plays a pivotal role in establishing a solid foundation for understanding the functions of organ - systems of human body. It provides the comprehension of the underlying mechanisms that lead to developing the holistic concepts of health, disease and treatment. Physiology is taught as major subject in the first two years of MBBS in contextually integrated curriculum. Physiology is also being taught in first year of BDS, first four semesters of DPT and Nursing programs. 
At Foundation University Medical College, we are teaching cellular, nerve and muscle, hematology, immunology, cardiovascular and respiratory physiology in first year MBBS and gastrointestinal, renal, neurosciences with special senses, endocrinology and reproductive physiology in second year of MBBS. Practical laboratory sessions in physiology are devised to demonstrate important physiological concepts. The use of advanced recordings, monitoring equipment and techniques is emphasized to highlight the significance of precise recordings and data interpretation in medical practice.
Department has highly qualified and PM&DC certified faculty with vast experience of teaching and research. In the last 5 years, research projects prepared by the faculty have won funding of Rs 4.4 million from Higher Education Commission of Pakistan as well as from Foundation University internal research grants. More projects are in the pipeline. A particular strength of the department is its recognition by the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Pakistan (CPSP) for post graduate fellowship course i.e. FCPS in Physiology. It is a four-year degree program for medical doctors who have qualified FCPS-I in Medicine and Allied Sciences. So far 7 post graduates have qualified FCPS exam and 2 are under training.


Head of Department
Professor Dr. Sadia Ahsin MBBS, FCPS, MHPE (32655-P)

Dr. Gul-e-Naghma Saeed MBBS, M.Phil, FCPS (17409-P)

Associate Professor
Dr. Madiha Imran MBBS. M.Phil, FCPS (44141-P)

Assistant Professor
Dr. Hira Ashraf MBBS, MPhil (58964-S)
Dr. Nasar Abbas Shamsi MBBS, MPhil (68292-P)
Dr. Javaria Sharafat MBBS, MPhil (64189-P) 

Dr. Zara Shaukat MBBS, FCPS (78883-P)
Dr. Fatima Iqbal MBBS, MPhil (19396-N)
Dr. Ammara Abid MBBS, MPhil (64196-P)                      
Dr. Asma Malik MBBS (31186-P)
Dr. Erum Syed MBBS (4417-P)
Dr. Maryam Naseem BDS (21547-D)
Dr. Fatima Zaheer BDS (13608-D)
Dr. Sohaib Asghar MBBS (742607-01-M)
Dr. Ayesha Saeed MBBS (714674-01-M)